Licensed child care center · public record
Academy of Little Scholars
Houston, Texas. The state’s inspection record for this operation, from Texas Health and Human Services Child Care Regulation, in plain English.
The operation
- Type
- Licensed child care center
- State permit
- Full Permit, issued September 2, 1998
- Capacity
- 46 children
- Ages served
- Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
- Hours
- Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri · 06:00 AM-06:00 PM
- Accepts child care subsidies
- Yes
- Conditions on the permit
- Yes
- Corrective action listed
- No
- Adverse action listed
- No
- Temporarily closed
- No
- State operation number
- 535288
Where
8802 W Montgomery Rd
Houston, TX 77088
Deficiencies by risk level
The state’s own summary counts for this operation, as published in the HHSC operations file.
Citations on the record
Each standard the state found not met, newest first, with its risk level and when it was corrected.
| Inspection | Risk | Standard |
|---|---|---|
| October 14, 2026 | High | 745.247 - Franchise Tax Delinquent State’s note: “The operation franchise tax is inactive.” |
| January 21, 2026 | Medium Low | 746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees State’s note: “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2025 data from January 20, 2026, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2025 by January 15, 2026, as required.” |
| October 14, 2025 | Medium | 746.4803 - Measurement of Use Zone for Stationary Equipment State’s note: “CCR observed stationary equipment positioned less than six feet from the perimeter.” |
| October 14, 2025 | Medium | 746.1309(e) - Documented Annual Training- Required Content State’s note: “A caregiver's annual training was evaluated from October 18, 2023, to October 18, 2024, and it was found to be missing emergency preparedness training.” |
| October 14, 2025 | Medium | 746.1309(c) - Documented Annual Training - 1 hour in Prevention, Recognition and Reporting of child maltreatment State’s note: “A caregiver's annual training was evaluated from October 18, 2023, to October 18, 2024, and it was found to be missing child maltreatment training.” |
| October 14, 2025 | Medium High | 746.4901(a) - Active Play Surfacing In Use Zones - Loose Fill or Unitary Surfacing State’s note: “The loose-fill in the playground consists of less than an inch of mulch.” |
| October 14, 2025 | Medium | 746.1311(e) - Director Annual Training - Additional required topics State’s note: “The director s annual training was evaluated from March 2, 2024, to March 2, 2025, and it was found to be missing Emergency preparedness, administering medication, food or an allergic reaction, and Handling and storing training.” |
| October 14, 2025 | Medium High | 746.613(b) - Immunization Records, Exceptions, and Exemptions Current State’s note: “A child's affidavit for exemption for immunization expired on February 28, 2024.” |
| October 14, 2025 | Medium High | 746.1311(d) - Director Annual Training - Caring for children under 24 months State’s note: “The director s annual training was evaluated from March 2, 2024, to March 2, 2025, and it was found to be missing the required training for caring for children under 24 months.” |
| October 14, 2025 | Medium | 746.2421(b) - Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days State’s note: “An infant feeding sheet for the month of October was not available during the inspection.” |
| October 14, 2025 | Medium | 746.1311(c) - Director Annual Training -Required 1 hour in prevention, recognition and reporting of child maltreatment State’s note: “The director s annual training was evaluated from March 2, 2024, to March 2, 2025, and it was found to be missing child maltreatment training.” |
| January 17, 2025 | Medium Low | 746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees State’s note: “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data from January 17, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.” |
| November 15, 2022 | Medium | 746.2421(a) - Written Feeding Instructions - Signed and Dated by Parent or Health-Care Professional State’s note: “Written feeding instructions were not available for one infant.” |
| November 15, 2022 | Medium High | 746.1309(d) - Documented Annual Training - Caregivers of Children Under 24 Months Required State’s note: “One caregiver did not receive training in Shaken Baby Syndrome, Abusive Head Trauma and Understanding Early Childhood Brain Development for the March 2021-March 2022 training year. The caregiver will need to receive make-up training hours that will not count towards the current training year.” |
| November 15, 2022 | Medium High | 746.2431 - Infant Daily Report - Share with Parent State’s note: “Daily infant reports are not being completed and provided to the parents.” |
| November 15, 2022 | Medium | 746.1309(e) - Documented Annual Training- Required Content State’s note: “Two caregivers were lacking training in the following topics: Caregiver A needs training in administering medications, food allergies and handling, storing and disposing of hazardous materials. Caregiver B needs training in handling, storing and disposing of hazardous materials. This will be make-up training hours and will not count towards the current tr…” |
| November 15, 2022 | High | 746.201(1) - Policies Comply with Rules State’s note: “The operational policies does not include the following information: 1. The benefits of physical activity and outdoor play; the duration of physical activity at your operation, both indoor and outdoor; type of physical activity children will participate in; each setting in which your physical activity program will take place; recommended clothing and footwe…” |
| November 15, 2022 | Medium High | 746.1301(4)(A) - Training Requirements for Employees, Caregivers, and directors - Pediatric CPR State’s note: “Of the four personnel records evaluated, two have not completed a valid CPR training course. The caregivers completed a CPR training course on-line.” |
| November 15, 2022 | Medium High | 746.1311(d) - Director Annual Training - Caring for children under 24 months State’s note: “The director did not receive training in SIDS, Shaken Baby Syndrome, Abusive Head Trauma, Understanding Early Childhood Brain Development for the March 2021-March 2022 training year. This will be make-up training hours and will not count towards the current training year.” |
| March 2, 2022 | Medium Low | 746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees State’s note: “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required” |
| January 4, 2022 | Medium High | 746.3401(a) - Annual Sanitation Inspection State’s note: “There is no documentation showing that health inspection was complete.” |
| November 19, 2021 | Medium High | 746.3401(a) - Annual Sanitation Inspection State’s note: “There is no documentation showing that health inspection was complete.” |
Recent inspections and visits
- October 14, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- January 21, 2026 Assessment · deficiency found: Yes
- October 14, 2025 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- January 17, 2025 Assessment · deficiency found: Yes
- October 28, 2024 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- November 10, 2023 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- November 15, 2022 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- March 2, 2022 Assessment · deficiency found: Yes
- January 4, 2022 Assessment · deficiency found: Yes
- November 19, 2021 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
How many times has the state inspected Academy of Little Scholars?
Texas HHSC's file lists 2 inspections in the last two years, the most recent on October 14, 2026. 4 of the inspections and other visits in that period are marked as having found a deficiency.
Does Academy of Little Scholars have deficiencies on its record?
The state's summary for this operation lists 22: 2 high-risk, 9 medium-high-risk, 8 medium-risk, 3 medium-low-risk. Each one is listed below with its date and whether it was corrected.
Is this a rating?
No. This page shows the State of Texas's own public records, summarized. It is not a rating, a review or our opinion. Ask the operation or HHSC about anything here.
Other day cares in Houston
- Kings Kids Houston Childcare LLCLicensed child care center
- Peck Head StartLicensed child care center
- St Philip Day SchoolLicensed child care center
- Little People's Creative AcademyLicensed child care center
- Reynolds Head StartLicensed child care center
- The Learning ExperienceLicensed child care center
- The Learning ExperienceLicensed child care center
- Joyful Days AcademyLicensed child care center
- Big Dreams & Lil Wonders Christian Academy - AirtexLicensed child care center
- Kids Klub Learning CenterLicensed child care center
- The Learning Corner Academy 2Licensed child care center
- iKids at Poe Elementary SchoolLicensed child care center
Get Texas's new day cares every Monday
Free. The week’s new names for one region, in one short email. No account.
We only email you about Texas Daycare Report. Unsubscribe any time.