Licensed child care center · public record
Alpha Academy
Houston, Texas. The state’s inspection record for this operation, from Texas Health and Human Services Child Care Regulation, in plain English.
The operation
- Type
- Licensed child care center
- State permit
- Full Permit, issued December 11, 2002
- Capacity
- 51 children
- Ages served
- Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
- Hours
- Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri · 06:00 AM-06:30 PM
- Accepts child care subsidies
- Yes
- Conditions on the permit
- No
- Corrective action listed
- No
- Adverse action listed
- No
- Temporarily closed
- No
- State operation number
- 818659
Where
1647 Candytuft Ct
Houston, TX 77038
Deficiencies by risk level
The state’s own summary counts for this operation, as published in the HHSC operations file.
Citations on the record
Each standard the state found not met, newest first, with its risk level and when it was corrected.
| Inspection | Risk | Standard |
|---|---|---|
| September 30, 2026 | Medium | 746.5205(4) - Documentation of Drills State’s note: “The start time of the fire drills is not being documented. This was corrected at inspection.” |
| September 30, 2026 | High | 746.3407(12) - Mark Cleaning Supplies, Toxic Materials; Keep Separate from Food and Inaccessible to Children State’s note: “The following was observed: 1. Cleaning supplies that were stored in the cabinet underneath the sink were accessible to the children. 2. Cleaning supplies in the bathroom were stored in a cabinet that was accessible to children. Neither one of the cabinets had a childproof safety latch to prevent children from accessing the cleaning supplies. This was co…” |
| October 2, 2025 | Medium | 746.603(a)(2) - Children's Records - Admission Information State’s note: “Of the six children's records evaluated, the following information was missing: 1. One lacked the address for the emergency contact 2. One lacked authorization for emergency medical care. 3. One lacked the phone number of the child's doctor” |
| October 2, 2025 | Medium High | 746.5202(3) - Emergency Preparedness Plan - Essential Documentation State’s note: “The emergency preparedness plan does not state how the center will evacuate the building with parent contact information, emergency contact information and emergency medical authorization information for each child.” |
| October 2, 2025 | Medium | 746.1311(c) - Director Annual Training -Required 1 hour in prevention, recognition and reporting of child maltreatment State’s note: “The director did not complete training in the recognition of child abuse and neglect for the August 2024-August 2025 training year.” |
| October 2, 2025 | Medium High | 746.5202(1) - Emergency Preparedness Plan - Evacuation, relocation, and sheltering/lock-down procedures State’s note: “The emergency preparedness plan does not state how children will be evacuated from the center and how children under the age of 2 will be evacuated.” |
| October 2, 2025 | Medium | 746.1311(e) - Director Annual Training - Additional required topics State’s note: “The director did not receive training in communicable diseases including immunizations and understanding building and physical premises safety for the August 2024-August 2025 training year.” |
| October 2, 2025 | Medium Low | 746.405(b)(1) - Required posting of name, address, and telephone number - Local CCR office State’s note: “The emergency telephone number posting included the incorrect telephone number for the local Child Care Regulation Office. This was corrected at inspection.” |
| October 2, 2025 | Medium | 746.1309(e) - Documented Annual Training- Required Content State’s note: “Of the six personnel records evaluated, two did not receive training in communicable diseases including immunizations and understanding building and physical premises safety for the September 2024-September 2025 training year.” |
| October 2, 2025 | Medium | 746.1309(c) - Documented Annual Training - 1 hour in Prevention, Recognition and Reporting of child maltreatment State’s note: “Of the six personnel records evaluated, two did not complete training in the recognition of child abuse and neglect for the September 2024-September 2025 training year.” |
| October 2, 2025 | High | 746.201(1) - Policies Comply with Rules State’s note: “The parent handbook lacked the following information: 1. Requirements for indoor/outdoor physical activity, benefits of indoor//outdoor physical activity, duration of indoor/outdoor physical activity, type of indoor/outdoor physical activity, the setting, recommended clothing and footwear, criteria used when the weather prevents outdoor play and plan for phy…” |
| October 2, 2025 | Low | 746.611(a)(1) - Required Health Statement - Written, dated within past year, indicates child is physically able to participate in operation's child-care program State’s note: “Of the six children's records evaluated, five lacked the name and address of the doctor who examined the child within the past year.” |
| October 2, 2025 | Medium High | 746.1311(d) - Director Annual Training - Caring for children under 24 months State’s note: “The director did not one clock hour of training in SIDS, Shaken Baby Syndrome, Abusive Head Trauma and Understanding Early CHildhood Brain Development for the August 2024-August 2025 training year.” |
| October 2, 2025 | Medium Low | 746.401(9) - Posting Requirements - List entitled "Current Employees"--sized at least 81/2 X 11 inches, printed legibly, include employee first and last name State’s note: “The list of current employees did not include all staff that are working at the center, This was corrected at inspection.” |
| October 2, 2025 | Medium High | 746.5202(4) - Emergency Preparedness Plan-Continuity of Care Until Children Released State’s note: “The emergency preparedness plan does not state how children will be cared for during the emergency.” |
| October 2, 2025 | Medium High | 746.5202(5) - Emergency Preparedness Plan-Reunification Plan State’s note: “The emergency preparedness plan does not state how children will be reunited with their parents once the emergency is over,” |
| October 2, 2025 | Medium Low | 746.901(5) - Required Personnel Records - Required Affidavit (Form 2912) State’s note: “Of the six personnel records evaluated, two lacked the pre-employment affidavit.” |
| October 2, 2025 | Medium High | 746.5202(2) - Emergency Preparedness Plan - Communication Procedures State’s note: “The emergency preparedness plan does not include the emergency phone number for the center, does not state how the center will communicate with emergency authorities and CHild Care Regulation.” |
Recent inspections and visits
- September 30, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- October 2, 2025 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- October 4, 2024 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- October 6, 2023 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- October 7, 2022 Inspection · deficiency found: No
How many times has the state inspected Alpha Academy?
Texas HHSC's file lists 2 inspections in the last two years, the most recent on September 30, 2026. 2 of the inspections and other visits in that period are marked as having found a deficiency.
Does Alpha Academy have deficiencies on its record?
The state's summary for this operation lists 18: 2 high-risk, 6 medium-high-risk, 6 medium-risk, 3 medium-low-risk, 1 low-risk. Each one is listed below with its date and whether it was corrected.
Is this a rating?
No. This page shows the State of Texas's own public records, summarized. It is not a rating, a review or our opinion. Ask the operation or HHSC about anything here.
Other day cares in Houston
- Kings Kids Houston Childcare LLCLicensed child care center
- Peck Head StartLicensed child care center
- St Philip Day SchoolLicensed child care center
- Little People's Creative AcademyLicensed child care center
- Reynolds Head StartLicensed child care center
- The Learning ExperienceLicensed child care center
- The Learning ExperienceLicensed child care center
- Joyful Days AcademyLicensed child care center
- Big Dreams & Lil Wonders Christian Academy - AirtexLicensed child care center
- Kids Klub Learning CenterLicensed child care center
- The Learning Corner Academy 2Licensed child care center
- iKids at Poe Elementary SchoolLicensed child care center
Get Texas's new day cares every Monday
Free. The week’s new names for one region, in one short email. No account.
We only email you about Texas Daycare Report. Unsubscribe any time.