TexasDaycare ReportFrom state records

Licensed child care center · public record

Bright Stars Academy

Houston, Texas. The state’s inspection record for this operation, from Texas Health and Human Services Child Care Regulation, in plain English.

3 state inspections, last 2 years
10 deficiencies on the state’s summary
6 high or medium-high risk
August 14, 2026 most recent inspection

The operation

Type
Licensed child care center
State permit
Full Permit, issued March 22, 2006
Capacity
78 children
Ages served
Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri · 06:00 AM-06:00 PM
Accepts child care subsidies
Yes
Conditions on the permit
Yes
Corrective action listed
No
Adverse action listed
No
Temporarily closed
No
State operation number
854203

Where

712 E Tidwell Rd Ste J
Houston, TX 77022

Deficiencies by risk level

  • High 2
  • Medium-high 4
  • Medium 2
  • Medium-low 2
  • Low 0

The state’s own summary counts for this operation, as published in the HHSC operations file.

Citations on the record

Each standard the state found not met, newest first, with its risk level and when it was corrected.

InspectionRiskStandardCorrected
July 17, 2026Medium High746.605(6) - Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact
State’s note: “Four of the reviewed children files did not have a completed emergency contact address.”
July 31, 2026
July 17, 2026High746.1205(a)(4) - Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity
State’s note: “A classroom was left unsupervised when the sole caregiver in the classroom left the classroom to open the door of the operation and to transfer a child to another classroom. Another classroom was left unsupervised when the caregiver left the classroom to retrieve a sign in sheet log.”
July 31, 2026
July 17, 2026Medium High746.3407 - Maintenance of Building, Grounds and Equipment
State’s note: “A pole on a table in the outdoor play area was cracked with a hole. The padding in the outdoor play area was torn with exposed padding.”
July 31, 2026
July 17, 2026Medium High746.1315(b) - Each Caregiver and the Director Must Have Current Training in pediatric CPR
State’s note: “A caregiver had a CPR certificate that expired on 5.2026. Two caregivers did not have a current CPR certificate.”
July 31, 2026
January 21, 2025Medium Low746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees
State’s note: “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2024 data from January 17, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.”
January 23, 2025
July 24, 2024Medium High746.1315(a) - Each Caregiver and the Director Must Have Current Training in pediatric first aid with rescue breathing and choking.
State’s note: “The directorand three caregivers are missing their CPR and First-Aid training.”
August 7, 2024
July 24, 2024Medium746.1311(e) - Director Annual Training - Additional required topics
State’s note: “The director's annual training for the month of 0ct 2022-Oct 2023 is missing the following required training. Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous. Understanding building and physical premises safety. Administering medication. Make-up training will not count towards the current training year.”
August 7, 2024
July 24, 2024Medium746.1309(e) - Documented Annual Training- Required Content
State’s note: “The infant caregiver annual training for the month of 9/21/22-09/21/23 is missing the following required training. Understanding building and physical premises safety Administering medication. The after-school caregiver annual training for the months of 9/7/22-9/7/23 is missing the following required training. Understanding building and physical premises s…”
August 7, 2024
January 19, 2024Medium Low746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees
State’s note: “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data from January 17, 2024, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2023 by January 15, 2024, as required.”
January 22, 2024
April 3, 2023High746.1205(a)(4) - Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity
State’s note: “The caregiver walked out the classroom and left five children unattended.”
April 3, 2023

Recent inspections and visits

How many times has the state inspected Bright Stars Academy?

Texas HHSC's file lists 3 inspections in the last two years, the most recent on August 14, 2026. 2 of the inspections and other visits in that period are marked as having found a deficiency.

Does Bright Stars Academy have deficiencies on its record?

The state's summary for this operation lists 10: 2 high-risk, 4 medium-high-risk, 2 medium-risk, 2 medium-low-risk. Each one is listed below with its date and whether it was corrected.

Is this a rating?

No. This page shows the State of Texas's own public records, summarized. It is not a rating, a review or our opinion. Ask the operation or HHSC about anything here.

About this record. Public record from the Texas Health and Human Services Commission, Child Care Regulation: the operations file, the inspections file and the non-compliance file on data.texas.gov, read daily. We summarize the state’s counts and quote its words; we don’t rate, rank or review anyone. For the official record or a complaint, go to HHSC Child Care Regulation. Is this your operation, and is something wrong? Tell us.

Other day cares in Houston

Every day care in Houston

Get Texas's new day cares every Monday

Free. The week’s new names for one region, in one short email. No account.

We only email you about Texas Daycare Report. Unsubscribe any time.