TexasDaycare ReportFrom state records

Licensed child care center · public record

International School of San Antonio

San Antonio, Texas. The state’s inspection record for this operation, from Texas Health and Human Services Child Care Regulation, in plain English.

4 state inspections, last 2 years
17 deficiencies on the state’s summary
11 high or medium-high risk
May 18, 2026 most recent inspection

The operation

Type
Licensed child care center
State permit
Full Permit, issued December 17, 2021
Capacity
73 children
Ages served
Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri · 07:00 AM-06:00 PM
Accepts child care subsidies
No
Conditions on the permit
No
Corrective action listed
No
Adverse action listed
No
Temporarily closed
No
State operation number
1725315

Where

6739 Callaghan Rd
San Antonio, TX 78229

Deficiencies by risk level

  • High 5
  • Medium-high 6
  • Medium 4
  • Medium-low 2
  • Low 0

The state’s own summary counts for this operation, as published in the HHSC operations file.

Citations on the record

Each standard the state found not met, newest first, with its risk level and when it was corrected.

InspectionRiskStandardCorrected
May 18, 2026Medium High746.4907(a)(1) - Installation and Maintenance of Loose-fill Surfacing - Six Inches if Equipment 5 Ft or Less
State’s note: “The loose-fill on the playground is not installed to the required depth of six inches under and around the playground structure.”
June 1, 2026
October 10, 2024Medium High746.5307(b) - Fire Extinguishers Serviced
State’s note: “Four of the fire extinguishers were last serviced on 8.2023.”
October 24, 2024
October 10, 2024Medium746.603(a) - Children's Records Maintained
State’s note: “One of the six children files was unavailable for review. One of the six children was missing the immunization records.”
November 10, 2024
March 21, 2024High746.1205(a)(2) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know number of children responsible for
State’s note: “The teacher in the PreK Spanish classroom stated there were 10 children in care when there were actually 11 children in care.”
March 21, 2024
March 19, 2024High746.1205(a)(4) - Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity
State’s note: “It was determined based on the interviews conducted and information gathered that an incident had occurred when a three-year child was left in the classroom unsupervised.”
March 21, 2024
October 20, 2023Medium High746.5202(1) - Emergency Preparedness Plan - Evacuation, relocation, and sheltering/lock-down procedures
State’s note: “The emergency preparedness plan did not specify the designated location or address of this location. Included the emergency evacuation route and relocation diagram.”
October 27, 2023
October 20, 2023Medium746.3809 - Medication No Longer Used
State’s note: “An allergy medication stored in the office was observed to have expired 10/2021.”
October 20, 2023
October 20, 2023Medium High746.3701(5) - Safety - Play Materials and Equipment Safe
State’s note: “On the Preschool playground four CVC white pipes were observed unattached.”
October 27, 2023
December 1, 2022Medium746.4503(a) - Individual Cot, Bed, or Mat for Each Walking Child Through 4 Years of Age
State’s note: “Two mats were observed torn exposing the cotton.”
December 16, 2022
December 1, 2022Medium Low746.901(4) - Required Personnel Records - Required Affidavit
State’s note: “One of the six staff didn't have an affidavit available for review.”
December 16, 2022
December 1, 2022Medium High746.605(6) - Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact
State’s note: “Six of the six children files didn't have emergency contact addresses. One of the six children files didn't have release information. One of the six children files didn't have healthcare authorization information. Two of the six children files didn't have food allergy information.”
December 16, 2022
September 12, 2022High746.1203(4) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Supervision of Children
State’s note: “During the course of the investigation supervision was determined to have occurred after a four-year child walked out of the front of the building of the operation unsupervised. The child was brought in by a staff member into the building after 1 minute 30 seconds.”
September 14, 2022
January 28, 2022Medium High746.305(a)(4) - Report Outbreak of Communicable Illness
State’s note: “Based upon information gathered and interviews conducted Licensing nor the Health Department were notified within 48 hours by the operation.”
February 2, 2022
December 8, 2021Medium Low746.401(8) - Posting Requirements - Telephone Numbers
State’s note: “Emergency Telephone Numbers was not available for review. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection when Form 7243 was provided, filled out and posted.”
At the inspection
December 8, 2021High746.901(7) - Required Personnel Records-Proof of DFPS background checks
State’s note: “One of the six staff files did not have a background check verification available. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection when the eligibility letter was provided and filed.”
At the inspection
December 8, 2021Medium746.501(a)(5) - Written Operational Policies - Emergencies
State’s note: “The operational policy did not specify procedures for handling medical emergencies. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection when procedures were added to the Operational policy.”
At the inspection
December 8, 2021High746.605(12) - Required Admission Information - Emergency Medical Authorization
State’s note: “Two of the six children files did not have Emergency authorization information available.”
December 8, 2021

Recent inspections and visits

How many times has the state inspected International School of San Antonio?

Texas HHSC's file lists 4 inspections in the last two years, the most recent on May 18, 2026. 1 of the inspections and other visits in that period are marked as having found a deficiency.

Does International School of San Antonio have deficiencies on its record?

The state's summary for this operation lists 17: 5 high-risk, 6 medium-high-risk, 4 medium-risk, 2 medium-low-risk. Each one is listed below with its date and whether it was corrected.

Is this a rating?

No. This page shows the State of Texas's own public records, summarized. It is not a rating, a review or our opinion. Ask the operation or HHSC about anything here.

About this record. Public record from the Texas Health and Human Services Commission, Child Care Regulation: the operations file, the inspections file and the non-compliance file on data.texas.gov, read daily. We summarize the state’s counts and quote its words; we don’t rate, rank or review anyone. For the official record or a complaint, go to HHSC Child Care Regulation. Is this your operation, and is something wrong? Tell us.

Other day cares in San Antonio

Every day care in San Antonio

Get Texas's new day cares every Monday

Free. The week’s new names for one region, in one short email. No account.

We only email you about Texas Daycare Report. Unsubscribe any time.