Licensed child care center · public record
Kids First Learning Academy
Pharr, Texas. The state’s inspection record for this operation, from Texas Health and Human Services Child Care Regulation, in plain English.
The operation
- Type
- Licensed child care center
- State permit
- Full Permit, issued April 25, 2022
- Capacity
- 36 children
- Ages served
- Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
- Hours
- Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri · 07:00 AM-06:00 PM
- Accepts child care subsidies
- Yes
- Conditions on the permit
- No
- Corrective action listed
- No
- Adverse action listed
- No
- Temporarily closed
- No
- State operation number
- 1727895
Where
225 W Park Ave
Pharr, TX 78577
Deficiencies by risk level
The state’s own summary counts for this operation, as published in the HHSC operations file.
Citations on the record
Each standard the state found not met, newest first, with its risk level and when it was corrected.
| Inspection | Risk | Standard |
|---|---|---|
| January 28, 2026 | Medium | 746.4135(b) - Children's Products- Annual Certification State’s note: “The Children's Product Certification has not been certified since 2022.” |
| January 22, 2026 | Medium Low | 746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees State’s note: “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2025 data from January 20, 2026, determined the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2025 by January 15, 2026, as required.” |
| February 25, 2025 | Medium High | 746.3317(10) - Food Service and Preparation Requirement - Poisonous/Toxic Materials Stored Separate from Food State’s note: “In the kitchen counter top there were cleaning supplies were food is prepped. NOTE: This was corrected during the inspection when the caregiver stored the cleaning supplies away from the area where food is prepped.” |
| February 25, 2025 | High | 745.641 - AP Background check results - Must receive notification prior to allowing subject to be present at your operation State’s note: “There was a caregiver at the center that had a deactivated background check. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection when the caregiver was sent home.” |
| February 25, 2025 | Medium High | 746.5101(b) - Annual Fire Inspection - Conducted by Fire Marshal State’s note: “Fire inspection has expired, it has not been conducted since 3/27/2023.” |
| February 25, 2025 | Medium | 746.3501(5) - Diaper Changing Steps-Label Powders, Lotions, Etc. with Name State’s note: “In the infant room there a labeled diaper rash cream in another childs bin. NOTE: This was corrected during the inspection when caregiver removed the diaper rash cream from the bin and disposed of it in the garbage bin.” |
| March 21, 2024 | Medium | 746.1309(e) - Documented Annual Training- Required Content State’s note: “Two of the four employee records are missing annual trainings: Hazardous materials, allergic reactions, medical administrations, building safety, communicable diseases, emergency preparedness, 1 hour abuse/neglect,” |
| March 21, 2024 | Medium Low | 746.901(1) - Required Personnel Records - Dates of Employment State’s note: “One of the 4 employee records reviewed is missing the application form that includes date of employment.” |
| April 11, 2023 | Medium | 746.4751(b) - Maintenance Procedures for Active Play - Monthly Maintenance Checklist State’s note: “In the outdoor playground area there was a broken toy accessible to the children. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection when caregiver removed the toy from the playground area and disposed of it in the large garbage bin outside of the operation.” |
| March 27, 2023 | Medium High | 746.5101(b) - Annual Fire Inspection - Conducted by Fire Marshal State’s note: “Fire inspection is expired, the date the fire inspection was last conducted was on October 25, 2021.” |
| October 20, 2022 | Medium Low | 746.401(9) - Posting Requirements - List entitled "Current Employees"--sized at least 81/2 X 11 inches, printed legibly, include employee first and last name State’s note: “Employees list was posted but had not been updated to have the new employees on the list. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection when the list was updated and posted on the wall.” |
| October 20, 2022 | Medium High | 746.4751(a) - Maintenance Procedures for Active Play - Inspect Daily State’s note: “The outdoor area was inspected and was not kept in a sanitary manner. Leaves were all over the play area on top of toys making the toys to be unsanitary for the children to use. There were spider webs in the play structure.” |
| March 30, 2022 | Medium | 746.603(a) - Children's Records Maintained State’s note: “Student records were reviewed during inspection the following documents were missing: 2 out of 4 student records were missing a statement of the child s health from a health-care professional. 1 out of 4 student records was missing Immunization record.” |
| March 30, 2022 | Medium | 746.401(5) - Posting Requirements - Activity Plans for each group of children in the child care center State’s note: “Activity plan and daily menu was not posted with required postings for parents to see.” |
| March 30, 2022 | Medium | 746.4503(b) - Cots, Beds, Mats Labeled With Child's Name State’s note: “Child was observed on incorrect mat that was not labeled with the child's name. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection when caregiver moved the child to the mat labeled with the child's name.” |
| March 30, 2022 | Medium | 746.901 - Required Personnel Records State’s note: “While reviewing staff records the following was missing: 4 out of the 4 staff records were missing the employment date. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection when caregiver wrote down the date of employment. 1 out of the 4 staff records had an expired driver's license. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection when director made a copy of the new driver's…” |
| March 1, 2022 | Medium Low | 746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees State’s note: “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.” |
| January 26, 2022 | Medium | 746.201(6) - Background Checks Kept Confidential State’s note: “Back ground check was missing from 4 out of 4 staff files. NOTE: Director printed out the background checks for 4 out of the 4 missing employee background forms.” |
| January 26, 2022 | Medium | 746.401(2) - Posting Requirements - Letter or form from the most recent Licensing Inspection or Investigation State’s note: “Operation did not have the most recent licensing form posted. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection when director printed the form 2936 and posted it on the parent notification wall at the entrance of the operation.” |
| December 20, 2021 | Medium High | 746.3407(8) - Garbage Inaccessible to Children; Maintained in Sanitary Manner State’s note: “Garbage bins in two restrooms did not have a lid on them making garbage accessible to children. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection when caregiver removed the garbage bins from the restrooms.” |
Recent inspections and visits
- January 28, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- January 22, 2026 Assessment · deficiency found: Yes
- February 25, 2025 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- March 21, 2024 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- April 11, 2023 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- March 27, 2023 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- March 16, 2023 Report · deficiency found: No
- October 20, 2022 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- September 19, 2022 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- September 9, 2022 Report · deficiency found: No
- March 30, 2022 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- March 1, 2022 Assessment · deficiency found: Yes
- January 26, 2022 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- December 20, 2021 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
How many times has the state inspected Kids First Learning Academy?
Texas HHSC's file lists 2 inspections in the last two years, the most recent on January 28, 2026. 3 of the inspections and other visits in that period are marked as having found a deficiency.
Does Kids First Learning Academy have deficiencies on its record?
The state's summary for this operation lists 20: 1 high-risk, 5 medium-high-risk, 10 medium-risk, 4 medium-low-risk. Each one is listed below with its date and whether it was corrected.
Is this a rating?
No. This page shows the State of Texas's own public records, summarized. It is not a rating, a review or our opinion. Ask the operation or HHSC about anything here.
Other day cares in Pharr
- Chavez Head Start AcademyLicensed child care center
- Mundo de Juguete Learning CenterLicensed child care center
- Little Scholars Learning Center IILicensed child care center
- Twinkle Toes Learning Center LLCLicensed child care center
- Angelica's Little Scholars DaycareLicensed child-care home
- The Kinder CornerLicensed child-care home
- Magic Kidz Academy LLCLicensed child care center
- Jolie Childcare & Learning Academy LLCLicensed child care center
- Lil Leaders Learning AcademyLicensed child care center
- The Bears Learning Center LLCLicensed child care center
- I Kids Academy Learning Center LLCLicensed child care center
- Campanitas Day Care LLCLicensed child care center
Get Texas's new day cares every Monday
Free. The week’s new names for one region, in one short email. No account.
We only email you about Texas Daycare Report. Unsubscribe any time.