Licensed child care center · public record
La Petite Academy
Houston, Texas. The state’s inspection record for this operation, from Texas Health and Human Services Child Care Regulation, in plain English.
The operation
- Type
- Licensed child care center
- State permit
- Full Permit, issued October 13, 1986
- Capacity
- 102 children
- Ages served
- Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
- Hours
- Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri · 06:30 AM-06:30 PM
- Accepts child care subsidies
- Yes
- Conditions on the permit
- Yes
- Corrective action listed
- No
- Adverse action listed
- No
- Temporarily closed
- No
- State operation number
- 133307- 684
Where
1810 W 18th St
Houston, TX 77008
Deficiencies by risk level
The state’s own summary counts for this operation, as published in the HHSC operations file.
Citations on the record
Each standard the state found not met, newest first, with its risk level and when it was corrected. Showing the newest 25 of 31.
| Inspection | Risk | Standard |
|---|---|---|
| May 26, 2026 | Medium High | 746.4907(a)(1) - Installation and Maintenance of Loose-fill Surfacing - Six Inches if Equipment 5 Ft or Less State’s note: “The operation has three playground equipment that does not meet the required six inches of loose fill.” |
| May 26, 2026 | Medium | 746.801(12) - Required Records Maintained and Made Available - Sanitation Inspection Report State’s note: “The operation's current health inspection report was not available during the inspection.” |
| May 26, 2026 | Medium High | 746.5205(1) - Fire Drill Monthly - Exit in 3 Minutes State’s note: “CCR reviewed the operation's fire drill practices and found that the fire drills were not completed within three minutes for the months of March, April, and May.” |
| January 23, 2026 | Medium High | 746.1601 - Child/ Caregiver Ratio - 13 or More Children State’s note: “During the inspection I observed one caregiver caring for 17 children with a specified age group of 2 years. Raito is 1:11, the caregiver was over ratio by 6.” |
| January 23, 2026 | Medium High | 746.303(a)(4) - Report Change in Director State’s note: “The operation failed to report to licesning a change in director.” |
| January 22, 2026 | Medium Low | 746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees State’s note: “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2025 data from January 20, 2026, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2025 by January 15, 2026, as required.” |
| May 30, 2025 | Low | 746.611(a)(1) - Required Health Statement - Written, dated within past year, indicates child is physically able to participate in operation's child-care program State’s note: “During the inspection it was found 4 out of 7 child records did not have a health statement on file.” |
| January 21, 2025 | Medium Low | 746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees State’s note: “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data from January 17, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.” |
| January 3, 2025 | Medium | 746.3309(a)(1) - Parent Provided Meals/Snacks - Parent Choice State’s note: “The operation does not have a written agreement in regard to the parent providing snacks for their child while in care.” |
| January 3, 2025 | Medium High | 746.3301(d) - Nutrition and Food Service - Child must not go more than 3 hours State’s note: “A child went over more than 3 hours without eating while in care at the operation.” |
| June 11, 2024 | Medium | 746.901(5) - Required Personnel Records- Training Hours State’s note: “I was able to see four out of the five caregiver training. One caregiver is still missing the training documentation.” |
| May 31, 2024 | Medium | 746.603(a)(4) - Children's Records - Immunizations State’s note: “One child is missing immunization recrods.” |
| May 31, 2024 | Medium | 746.901(5) - Required Personnel Records- Training Hours State’s note: “They was not documentation for training hours for the director or five caregivers.” |
| May 31, 2024 | Medium | 746.2421(b) - Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days State’s note: “Six infants did not have an updated feeding instruction form.” |
| May 31, 2024 | Medium | 746.501(a)(22) - Written Operational Policies Procedures for Parent Review Licensing Reports & How to Access Rules State’s note: “In the operational policies the operation did not have how parents could find the most recent inspection report or how the parent could contact the local licensing office.” |
| May 31, 2024 | High | 746.5101(a) - Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months State’s note: “The operation did not have an updated fire inspection report.” |
| May 31, 2024 | Medium High | 746.1605(1) - Child/Caregiver Ratio - 18 Months Difference in Age State’s note: “In the toddler classroom they was a child that was 17 months old the oldest child in the class was 3 years old, which is more then 18 months older then the youngest child.” |
| May 31, 2024 | Medium High | 746.3415(7) - Employee Handwashing After Handling or Cleaning Bodily Fluids State’s note: “A caregiver did not wash their hands after cleaning a child's nose.” |
| June 8, 2023 | Medium High | 746.3407 - Maintenance of Building, Grounds and Equipment State’s note: “In the pre-K classroom they was paint coming off the wall and in the pre-school classroom board coming off the wall.” |
| March 29, 2023 | Medium High | 746.3819 - Food Allergy Emergency Plan Signed by Parents and Health Care Professional State’s note: “One of the children were observed to have allergies and did not have a food allergy plan.” |
| March 29, 2023 | Medium High | 746.2407 - Infant Care Area Furnishings and Equipment -Use of Safety Straps State’s note: “Two infants were observed without safety straps in highchairs. Corrected: When the caregiver fastened the safety straps.” |
| March 29, 2023 | Medium | 746.4503(b) - Cots, Beds, Mats Labeled With Child's Name State’s note: “The cots in the toddler classroom were not labeled.” |
| March 29, 2023 | Medium High | 746.305(a)(1) - Report Unsafe Facility Occurrence State’s note: “The operation did not report to licensing that a part of their building unsafe and unsanitary for children.” |
| March 29, 2023 | Medium High | 746.5202(1) - Emergency Preparedness Plan - Evacuation, relocation, and sheltering/lock-down procedures State’s note: “The emergency preparedness plan is missing how children 24 months and with limited mobility, will be evacuated out of the operation.” |
| March 29, 2023 | Medium High | 746.3401(a) - Annual Sanitation Inspection State’s note: “It was observed the operation did not have the most updated sanitation inspection. The last inspection was 2/22/2022.” |
Recent inspections and visits
- May 26, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- February 5, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- January 23, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- January 22, 2026 Assessment · deficiency found: Yes
- May 30, 2025 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- January 21, 2025 Assessment · deficiency found: Yes
- January 15, 2025 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- January 3, 2025 Report · deficiency found: Yes
- November 18, 2024 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- November 7, 2024 Report · deficiency found: No
- June 11, 2024 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- May 31, 2024 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- April 2, 2024 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- March 19, 2024 Report · deficiency found: No
- June 8, 2023 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
How many times has the state inspected La Petite Academy?
Texas HHSC's file lists 6 inspections in the last two years, the most recent on May 26, 2026. 6 of the inspections and other visits in that period are marked as having found a deficiency.
Does La Petite Academy have deficiencies on its record?
The state's summary for this operation lists 31: 3 high-risk, 14 medium-high-risk, 10 medium-risk, 3 medium-low-risk, 1 low-risk. Each one is listed below with its date and whether it was corrected.
Is this a rating?
No. This page shows the State of Texas's own public records, summarized. It is not a rating, a review or our opinion. Ask the operation or HHSC about anything here.
Other day cares in Houston
- Kings Kids Houston Childcare LLCLicensed child care center
- Peck Head StartLicensed child care center
- St Philip Day SchoolLicensed child care center
- Little People's Creative AcademyLicensed child care center
- Reynolds Head StartLicensed child care center
- The Learning ExperienceLicensed child care center
- The Learning ExperienceLicensed child care center
- Joyful Days AcademyLicensed child care center
- Big Dreams & Lil Wonders Christian Academy - AirtexLicensed child care center
- Kids Klub Learning CenterLicensed child care center
- The Learning Corner Academy 2Licensed child care center
- iKids at Poe Elementary SchoolLicensed child care center
Get Texas's new day cares every Monday
Free. The week’s new names for one region, in one short email. No account.
We only email you about Texas Daycare Report. Unsubscribe any time.