Licensed child care center · public record
Little People's Learning Tree
Houston, Texas. The state’s inspection record for this operation, from Texas Health and Human Services Child Care Regulation, in plain English.
The operation
- Type
- Licensed child care center
- State permit
- Full Permit, issued August 28, 2008
- Capacity
- 62 children
- Ages served
- Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
- Hours
- Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri · 06:00 AM-06:00 PM
- Accepts child care subsidies
- Yes
- Conditions on the permit
- Yes
- Corrective action listed
- No
- Adverse action listed
- No
- Temporarily closed
- No
- State operation number
- 878474
Where
457 Pickering St
Houston, TX 77091
Deficiencies by risk level
The state’s own summary counts for this operation, as published in the HHSC operations file.
Citations on the record
Each standard the state found not met, newest first, with its risk level and when it was corrected.
| Inspection | Risk | Standard |
|---|---|---|
| August 11, 2026 | High | 746.1205(a)(2) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know number of children responsible for State’s note: “It was revealed that when transitioning from one vehicle to the next, the bus driver did not check the transportation checklist to ensure that all children were accounted for during the transfer.” |
| July 15, 2026 | High | 746.605(7) - Required Admission Information - Release Information State’s note: “A child's file was reviewed and found to be missing information about who else is allowed to pick up the child.” |
| July 15, 2026 | Medium | 746.1311(e) - Director Annual Training - Additional required topics State’s note: “CCR reviewed the director's training and found the following required trainings were missing: Emergency preparedness. Controlling the spread of communicable diseases. Administering medication. Food allergies. Understanding building and physical premises safety. Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materials.” |
| July 15, 2026 | Low | 746.1329(c)(1)(B) - Documentation pediatric CPR-1st aid includes renewal date and expiration date State’s note: “The infant caregiver did not have an official copy of the CPR and First Aid certificate showing the expiration date.” |
| April 10, 2026 | High | 746.5101(a) - Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months State’s note: “The operation does not have an updated fire inspection; the last fire inspection was on 01/31/2025.” |
| April 8, 2026 | Medium | 746.605(14) - Required Admission Information - Special School-age Permissions State’s note: “CCR reviewed a child?s file and found that the section indicating which school the child attends was left blank.” |
| July 21, 2025 | Medium High | 746.4907(a)(1) - Installation and Maintenance of Loose-fill Surfacing - Six Inches if Equipment 5 Ft or Less State’s note: “The loose fill on the playgrounds is less than six inches.” |
| December 2, 2024 | High | 746.305(a)(6) - Report Situation Placing Children at Risk State’s note: “The operation reported the incident more than two days after the incident.” |
| December 2, 2024 | High | 746.2805(3) - Prohibited Punishments - Grabbing and Pulling State’s note: “The caregiver was seen grabbing and pulling a child by the arm.” |
| July 31, 2024 | Medium High | 746.3403 - Documentation of Annual Sanitation Inspection State’s note: “During the inspection the operation was not able to provide documentation of the health inspection conducted.” |
| January 23, 2024 | Medium Low | 746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees State’s note: “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data from January 17, 2024, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2023 by January 15, 2024, as required.” |
| August 1, 2023 | High | 746.5101(a) - Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months State’s note: “The operation was found to not have a current fire inspection.” |
| June 23, 2023 | High | 746.2401(7) - Basic Requirements for Infants - Never Unsupervised State’s note: “During the walkthrough I observed a classroom with 7 infants ages 6m, 7m, 8m 11m,12m,14m and 17 months left unsupervised. This was corrected when the caregiver returned to the classroom.” |
| June 23, 2023 | Medium | 746.1613(a) - Reduction of child/caregiver naptime ratio by 50% allowed, If 13 or more children in care, children are 18 mo. or older and other standards met State’s note: “During the inspection I oberved one caregiver caring for 7 infants engaged in naptime with a SAG of 0-11 months. Ratio is 1:4. The caregiver was over ratio by 3. This was corrected when the diirector sent in another teacher in the classroom.” |
| December 16, 2022 | Medium | 746.4503(a) - Individual Cot, Bed, or Mat for Each Walking Child Through 4 Years of Age State’s note: “Three nap mats were torn. One child was sleeping on a work-out mat. This was corrected at inspection when the maps were replaced.” |
| December 16, 2022 | Medium High | 746.1605 - Child/Caregiver Ratio - 18 Months Difference in Age State’s note: “A child in the infant room was 21 months older than the youngest child.” |
| December 16, 2022 | Medium High | 746.3701(1) - Safety - Electrical Outlets Covered State’s note: “Two outlets were uncovered in the nap room. This was corrected at inspection when they covered the outlets.” |
| December 16, 2022 | Medium High | 746.1601 - Child/ Caregiver Ratio - 13 or More Children State’s note: “There was one caregiver with 19 two and three year olds during lunch time. The specified age group of the children was 3 years old. This was corrected at inspection when the director joined the room.” |
| December 16, 2022 | Medium High | 746.1203(3) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know Children's Names and Ages State’s note: “A caregiver did not know the ages of the children in care and did not have a list of names and ages posted. This was corrected at inspection when the caregiver wrote and posted the children's ages on their name cards.” |
| December 8, 2022 | Medium High | 746.3505(c) - Diapering Procedures - Use Disposable Gloves State’s note: “A caregiver did not wash hands after disposing of gloves during diapering procedures.” |
| December 8, 2022 | Medium High | 746.3407 - Maintenance of Building, Grounds and Equipment State’s note: “A small nail was sticking out of the wall in the 2 year old room. There was a hole in the floor in the nap room.” |
| August 2, 2022 | Medium High | 746.5305 - Mounting of Fire Extinguishers State’s note: “The fire extinguisher in the infant room was located on top of a counter and not mounted. NOTE: The deficiency was corrected at inspection.” |
| February 25, 2022 | Medium Low | 746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees State’s note: “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required” |
| November 10, 2021 | Medium Low | 746.501(b)(1) - Operational Policies - Inform Parents That They May Visit Center Anytime During Operating Hours State’s note: “The operational policies did not inform the parents they are able to visit the center without prior approval.” |
| November 10, 2021 | Medium | 746.2421(b) - Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days State’s note: “During review of infants the operation did not have curret feeding instructions for an infant not yet eating table food.” |
Recent inspections and visits
- September 29, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- August 11, 2026 Report · deficiency found: Yes
- July 15, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- April 10, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- April 8, 2026 Report · deficiency found: Yes
- October 15, 2025 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- August 8, 2025 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- July 21, 2025 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- June 28, 2025 Report · deficiency found: No
- January 13, 2025 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- December 5, 2024 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- December 2, 2024 Report · deficiency found: Yes
- July 31, 2024 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- July 24, 2024 Report · deficiency found: No
- January 23, 2024 Assessment · deficiency found: Yes
How many times has the state inspected Little People's Learning Tree?
Texas HHSC's file lists 8 inspections in the last two years, the most recent on September 29, 2026. 6 of the inspections and other visits in that period are marked as having found a deficiency.
Does Little People's Learning Tree have deficiencies on its record?
The state's summary for this operation lists 25: 7 high-risk, 9 medium-high-risk, 5 medium-risk, 3 medium-low-risk, 1 low-risk. Each one is listed below with its date and whether it was corrected.
Is this a rating?
No. This page shows the State of Texas's own public records, summarized. It is not a rating, a review or our opinion. Ask the operation or HHSC about anything here.
Other day cares in Houston
- Kings Kids Houston Childcare LLCLicensed child care center
- Peck Head StartLicensed child care center
- St Philip Day SchoolLicensed child care center
- Little People's Creative AcademyLicensed child care center
- Reynolds Head StartLicensed child care center
- The Learning ExperienceLicensed child care center
- The Learning ExperienceLicensed child care center
- Joyful Days AcademyLicensed child care center
- Big Dreams & Lil Wonders Christian Academy - AirtexLicensed child care center
- Kids Klub Learning CenterLicensed child care center
- The Learning Corner Academy 2Licensed child care center
- iKids at Poe Elementary SchoolLicensed child care center
Get Texas's new day cares every Monday
Free. The week’s new names for one region, in one short email. No account.
We only email you about Texas Daycare Report. Unsubscribe any time.