Licensed child care center · public record
Primrose School of Upper Kirby
Houston, Texas. The state’s inspection record for this operation, from Texas Health and Human Services Child Care Regulation, in plain English.
The operation
- Type
- Licensed child care center
- State permit
- Full Permit, issued October 21, 2016
- Capacity
- 207 children
- Ages served
- Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
- Hours
- Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri · 06:30 AM-06:30 PM
- Accepts child care subsidies
- No
- Conditions on the permit
- Yes
- Corrective action listed
- No
- Adverse action listed
- No
- Temporarily closed
- No
- State operation number
- 1623720
Where
3001 Richmond Ave
Houston, TX 77098
Deficiencies by risk level
The state’s own summary counts for this operation, as published in the HHSC operations file.
Citations on the record
Each standard the state found not met, newest first, with its risk level and when it was corrected.
| Inspection | Risk | Standard |
|---|---|---|
| July 16, 2026 | High | 746.5101(a) - Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months State’s note: “Documentation showing a fire inspection has been conducted was unavailable for review upon request.” |
| May 14, 2026 | High | 746.5101(a) - Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months State’s note: “Documentation showing a fire inspection has been conducted was unavailable for review upon request.” |
| January 15, 2026 | High | 746.1205(a)(4) - Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity State’s note: “Based upon the information obtained, there is sufficient evidence to support a child was left on the playground unsupervised.” |
| June 27, 2025 | High | 746.2805(3) - Prohibited Punishments - Grabbing and Pulling State’s note: “A caregiver was observed grabbing a child during the follow-up inspection.” |
| June 17, 2025 | High | 746.1205(a)(1) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know children responsible for State’s note: “A caregiver did know the number of children in care. The caregiver stated there were 6 children present and there was only 5 children.” |
| June 13, 2025 | Medium High | 746.1205(a)(3) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know children's names and ages State’s note: “A caregiver did not know the ages of the children in care.” |
| June 10, 2025 | High | 746.2805(3) - Prohibited Punishments - Grabbing and Pulling State’s note: “Based upon the information obtained, there is sufficient evidence to support a child was pulled while in care.” |
| June 6, 2025 | Medium | 746.801(6) - Required Records Maintained and Made Available - Liability Insurance State’s note: “Proof of current liability insurance was unavailable upon request.” |
| June 6, 2025 | Medium High | 746.1205(a)(3) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know children's names and ages State’s note: “A caregiver did not know the ages of the children in care.” |
| December 5, 2024 | High | 746.2805(3) - Prohibited Punishments - Grabbing and Pulling State’s note: “Based on the information obtained during the DFPS investigation it was determined a caregiver used prohibited punishment by grabbing a child.” |
| October 3, 2022 | Medium | 745.651(1) - Background Check Validation - You must inactivate a subject who is no longer associated with your operation within 7 days of leaving State’s note: “The operation failed to inactivate two staff members background checks who are no longer employed at the operation with seven days of leaving the operation. One staff member last date of employment was on 9/9/2022 and the other staff member last date of employment was on 9/13/2022. Note: The two staff members background check were inactivated during the i…” |
| October 3, 2022 | High | 746.1203(2) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know Group Responsible For State’s note: “A caregiver responsible for the 1yr. and 2yr. olds did not state the correct number of children currently present in the classroom. The caregiver stated there were 10 children. There were 9 children currently present.” |
| August 9, 2022 | Medium | 746.2421(b) - Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days State’s note: “Five infants who are not ready for table food did not have updated feeding instruction sheets. Note: The infant feeding sheets were updated during the inspection.” |
| August 9, 2022 | High | 746.1203(2) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know Group Responsible For State’s note: “A caregiver in the infant room (3m to 7m) did not state the correct number of children present. The caregiver stated there were 8 children present but there were 7 children currently present.” |
| August 9, 2022 | Medium | 746.1311(a) - Director Annual Training 30 Hours Required State’s note: “The center director is missing 12 of 30 annual training hours.” |
| August 9, 2022 | Medium High | 746.605(6) - Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact State’s note: “Six children records reviewed were missing the emergency contact information from their files.” |
| August 9, 2022 | Medium High | 746.3819 - Food Allergy Emergency Plan Signed by Parents and Health Care Professional State’s note: “A child with a diagnosed food allergy and that requires an epipen is missing their parent signature on the food allergy emergency form. Note: The food allergy emergency form was signed by the child's parent during the inspection.” |
| August 9, 2022 | Medium | 746.1309(a) - Documented Annual Training Area - 24 Hours Required State’s note: “Four personnel records evaluated were missing 24 annual training hours.” |
Recent inspections and visits
- October 29, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- October 15, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- July 27, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- July 16, 2026 Assessment · deficiency found: Yes
- July 16, 2026 Report · deficiency found: No
- May 14, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- May 1, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- April 27, 2026 Report · deficiency found: No
- February 24, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- January 16, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- January 15, 2026 Report · deficiency found: Yes
- August 5, 2025 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- July 8, 2025 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- June 27, 2025 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- June 17, 2025 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
How many times has the state inspected Primrose School of Upper Kirby?
Texas HHSC's file lists 15 inspections in the last two years, the most recent on October 29, 2026. 9 of the inspections and other visits in that period are marked as having found a deficiency.
Does Primrose School of Upper Kirby have deficiencies on its record?
The state's summary for this operation lists 18: 9 high-risk, 4 medium-high-risk, 5 medium-risk. Each one is listed below with its date and whether it was corrected.
Is this a rating?
No. This page shows the State of Texas's own public records, summarized. It is not a rating, a review or our opinion. Ask the operation or HHSC about anything here.
Other day cares in Houston
- Kings Kids Houston Childcare LLCLicensed child care center
- Peck Head StartLicensed child care center
- St Philip Day SchoolLicensed child care center
- Little People's Creative AcademyLicensed child care center
- Reynolds Head StartLicensed child care center
- The Learning ExperienceLicensed child care center
- The Learning ExperienceLicensed child care center
- Joyful Days AcademyLicensed child care center
- Big Dreams & Lil Wonders Christian Academy - AirtexLicensed child care center
- Kids Klub Learning CenterLicensed child care center
- The Learning Corner Academy 2Licensed child care center
- iKids at Poe Elementary SchoolLicensed child care center
Get Texas's new day cares every Monday
Free. The week’s new names for one region, in one short email. No account.
We only email you about Texas Daycare Report. Unsubscribe any time.