Licensed child care center · public record
Rucker Head Start
Houston, Texas. The state’s inspection record for this operation, from Texas Health and Human Services Child Care Regulation, in plain English.
The operation
- Type
- Licensed child care center
- State permit
- Full Permit, issued December 14, 2020
- Capacity
- 97 children
- Ages served
- Pre-Kindergarten, School
- Hours
- Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri · 08:00 AM-04:00 PM
- Accepts child care subsidies
- No
- Conditions on the permit
- No
- Corrective action listed
- No
- Adverse action listed
- No
- Temporarily closed
- No
- State operation number
- 1698103
Where
5201 Vinett Ave
Houston, TX 77017
Deficiencies by risk level
The state’s own summary counts for this operation, as published in the HHSC operations file.
Citations on the record
Each standard the state found not met, newest first, with its risk level and when it was corrected.
| Inspection | Risk | Standard |
|---|---|---|
| November 12, 2024 | Medium High | 746.1301(a)(4)(A) - Training Requirements for Employees, Caregivers, and Directors - Pediatric CPR State’s note: “It was found that 4 employees did not have valid CPR/first aid.” |
| November 12, 2024 | High | 745.635(2) - AP Background check determination - If ineligible then you must immediately remove subject from operation and confirm to CBCU receipt of notice letter State’s note: “A caregiver was present at the operation with an ineligible background check.” |
| August 16, 2024 | High | 746.305(a)(6) - Report Situation Placing Children at Risk State’s note: “An incident in which a child was placed at risk was not reported to Childcare Licensing as required.” |
| August 16, 2024 | Medium | 746.707 - Incident/Illness Report Form Shared with Parent State’s note: “Based on the information found during the investigation, there was sufficient evidence that an incident report was not shared with the parent.” |
| August 16, 2024 | Medium | 746.701(5) - Licensing Incident/Illness Report Form - Situations Placing Children at Risk State’s note: “An incident report was not on record or provided for review during the investigation.” |
| December 5, 2023 | Medium High | 746.303(a)(4) - Report Change in Director State’s note: “The director on record with licensing is no longer the director for the operation. The director on record ceased being the director in August 2023. There is a new director for the operation that licensing was not notified about. The new director took over director responsibilites in August 2023.” |
| December 9, 2022 | Medium High | 746.3701(1) - Safety - Electrical Outlets Covered State’s note: “In Room 32 there were electrical outlets accessible to the children that were not covered. Note: This was corrected during the inspection.” |
| February 25, 2022 | Medium Low | 746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees State’s note: “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.” |
| December 13, 2021 | High | 745.621(b)(1)(A) - AP Renewal background checks submitted -No later than 5 yrs from date last submitted subjects initial or renewal fingerprint-based criminal hist check State’s note: “One caregiver does not have renewed background check. Became inactive 8.23.2021” |
Recent inspections and visits
- November 10, 2025 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- November 7, 2025 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- November 12, 2024 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- August 29, 2024 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- August 16, 2024 Report · deficiency found: Yes
- February 13, 2024 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- December 5, 2023 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- December 20, 2022 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- December 9, 2022 Report · deficiency found: No
- December 9, 2022 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- August 2, 2022 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- February 25, 2022 Assessment · deficiency found: Yes
- December 13, 2021 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- December 9, 2021 Report · deficiency found: No
How many times has the state inspected Rucker Head Start?
Texas HHSC's file lists 3 inspections in the last two years, the most recent on November 10, 2025. 1 of the inspections and other visits in that period are marked as having found a deficiency.
Does Rucker Head Start have deficiencies on its record?
The state's summary for this operation lists 9: 3 high-risk, 3 medium-high-risk, 2 medium-risk, 1 medium-low-risk. Each one is listed below with its date and whether it was corrected.
Is this a rating?
No. This page shows the State of Texas's own public records, summarized. It is not a rating, a review or our opinion. Ask the operation or HHSC about anything here.
Other day cares in Houston
- Kings Kids Houston Childcare LLCLicensed child care center
- Peck Head StartLicensed child care center
- St Philip Day SchoolLicensed child care center
- Little People's Creative AcademyLicensed child care center
- Reynolds Head StartLicensed child care center
- The Learning ExperienceLicensed child care center
- The Learning ExperienceLicensed child care center
- Joyful Days AcademyLicensed child care center
- Big Dreams & Lil Wonders Christian Academy - AirtexLicensed child care center
- Kids Klub Learning CenterLicensed child care center
- The Learning Corner Academy 2Licensed child care center
- iKids at Poe Elementary SchoolLicensed child care center
Get Texas's new day cares every Monday
Free. The week’s new names for one region, in one short email. No account.
We only email you about Texas Daycare Report. Unsubscribe any time.