Licensed child care center · public record
Smaller Scholars Montessori Academy
Houston, Texas. The state’s inspection record for this operation, from Texas Health and Human Services Child Care Regulation, in plain English.
The operation
- Type
- Licensed child care center
- State permit
- Full Permit, issued January 3, 2006
- Capacity
- 100 children
- Ages served
- Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
- Hours
- Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri · 07:00 AM-06:00 PM
- Accepts child care subsidies
- No
- Conditions on the permit
- Yes
- Corrective action listed
- No
- Adverse action listed
- No
- Temporarily closed
- No
- State operation number
- 854889
Where
14455 Grisby Rd
Houston, TX 77079
Deficiencies by risk level
The state’s own summary counts for this operation, as published in the HHSC operations file.
Citations on the record
Each standard the state found not met, newest first, with its risk level and when it was corrected. Showing the newest 25 of 28.
| Inspection | Risk | Standard |
|---|---|---|
| June 17, 2026 | High | 746.5101(a) - Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months State’s note: “Documentation reviewed during the follow up inspection showed the last fire inspection was completed on April 2, 2025.” |
| April 23, 2026 | High | 746.5101(a) - Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months State’s note: “Documentation reviewed during the follow up inspection showed the last fire inspection was completed on April 2, 2025.” |
| March 24, 2026 | Medium High | 746.5401 - Requirement of Gas Leak Inspection State’s note: “The operation did not have a current gas inspection report for licensing to review. The last inspection was completed 2/9/24.” |
| March 20, 2026 | High | 746.2805(7) - Prohibited Punishments - Placing Child in Locked or Dark Room State’s note: “A caregiver placed a child alone in a dark restroom for approximately six minutes as a form of prohibited punishment.” |
| April 15, 2025 | Medium | 746.611(b) - Health Statement on File within 1 Week of Admission State’s note: “2 out of 4 files reviewed did not have a health statement available for licensing to review.” |
| April 15, 2025 | Medium | 746.4751(b) - Maintenance Procedures for Active Play - Monthly Maintenance Checklist State’s note: “Playground checklist has not been completed since June 2024.” |
| April 15, 2025 | Medium High | 746.5307(b) - Fire Extinguishers Serviced State’s note: “Fire extinguishers has not been serviced since August 2023.” |
| April 15, 2025 | Medium | 746.3809 - Medication No Longer Used State’s note: “I observed an expired Epi pen for that is kept at the operation for a child in care with an allergy. The Epi pen expired in 12/2024. NOTE: This was corrected during the inspection, it was removed and sent home with parent.” |
| April 15, 2025 | Medium | 746.4503(b) - Cots, Beds, Mats Labeled With Child's Name State’s note: “Nap mats were not properly labeled during the inspection.” |
| April 15, 2025 | Medium | 746.4135(b) - Children's Products- Annual Certification State’s note: “The children's product certification was last certified on 2/2/24.” |
| January 28, 2025 | Medium Low | 746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees State’s note: “Operation has not reported their staffing changes for the year 2024 by the due date of 1/15/2025. NOTE: Director provided proof of compliance same day.” |
| December 17, 2024 | High | 746.1205(a)(4) - Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity State’s note: “Caregiver left a child unattended on a path leading from playground to the classroom for 9 minutes.” |
| May 1, 2024 | High | 746.1205(a)(4) - Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity State’s note: “The director reported that a child was left outside unsupervised for 6-7 minutes.” |
| April 24, 2024 | Low | 746.1105(3) - Minimum Qualifications Child Care Center Employees and Caregivers - Affidavit State’s note: “One caregiver was missing a notarized affidavit of employment.” |
| April 24, 2024 | Medium Low | 746.401(8) - Posting Requirements - Telephone Numbers State’s note: “Emergency telephone numbers were not posted. Corrected at inspection. Emergency numbers were posted during inspection.” |
| April 24, 2024 | Medium High | 746.4907(d) - Installation and Maintenance of Loose-fill Surfacing - Proper Depth Maintained State’s note: “Swings and slides did not have loosefill to proper depth.” |
| April 24, 2024 | Medium High | 746.303(a)(4) - Report Change in Director State’s note: “There was a change in director and licensing was not notified within 5 days that director was no longer associated with center. We were informed of the change at inspection.” |
| April 24, 2024 | Medium High | 746.1315(b) - Each Caregiver and the Director Must Have Current Training in pediatric CPR State’s note: “One caregiver did not have a current CPR training certificate, expired 2022. Another caregiver did not have hands-on CPR training.” |
| April 24, 2024 | Medium High | 746.1315(a) - Each Caregiver and the Director Must Have Current Training in pediatric first aid with rescue breathing and choking. State’s note: “Caregiver did not have current First Aide training. Training expired in 2022.” |
| January 18, 2024 | Medium Low | 746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees State’s note: “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023, revealed the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2023 by January 15, 2024, as required.” |
| June 20, 2023 | Medium High | 746.605(5) - Required Admission Information - Parents' Phone Numbers State’s note: “1 out 6 children records reviewed was missing emergency contact address information.” |
| November 7, 2022 | Medium High | 746.3417(3) - Children Handwashing After Toileting or Diapering State’s note: “It was observed that two caregivers once completing diaper changing did not wash the children's hands. Corrected during Inspection.” |
| November 7, 2022 | High | 745.641 - AP Background check results - Must receive notification prior to allowing subject to be present at your operation State’s note: “A caregiver was observed in a classroom with 18 children present who had direct access to children. Another caregivers background check results are still pending and the caregiver was present with direct access to children. The operation has not obtained an eligibility notification from CBCU stating the individuals are eligible to be present. Corrected durin…” |
| July 13, 2022 | Medium | 746.603(a)(3) - Children's Records - Health Statement State’s note: “Health statement was missing on file for four out of eight records checked.” |
| July 13, 2022 | Medium | 746.603(a)(4) - Children's Records - Immunizations State’s note: “Immunization record was missing on file for two out of eight records checked.” |
Recent inspections and visits
- June 17, 2026 Assessment · deficiency found: Yes
- April 23, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- March 24, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- March 20, 2026 Report · deficiency found: Yes
- April 15, 2025 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- January 30, 2025 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- January 28, 2025 Assessment · deficiency found: Yes
- December 20, 2024 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- December 17, 2024 Report · deficiency found: Yes
- May 13, 2024 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- May 3, 2024 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- May 1, 2024 Report · deficiency found: Yes
- April 24, 2024 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- January 18, 2024 Assessment · deficiency found: Yes
- October 16, 2023 Inspection · deficiency found: No
How many times has the state inspected Smaller Scholars Montessori Academy?
Texas HHSC's file lists 5 inspections in the last two years, the most recent on April 23, 2026. 7 of the inspections and other visits in that period are marked as having found a deficiency.
Does Smaller Scholars Montessori Academy have deficiencies on its record?
The state's summary for this operation lists 28: 7 high-risk, 9 medium-high-risk, 8 medium-risk, 3 medium-low-risk, 1 low-risk. Each one is listed below with its date and whether it was corrected.
Is this a rating?
No. This page shows the State of Texas's own public records, summarized. It is not a rating, a review or our opinion. Ask the operation or HHSC about anything here.
Other day cares in Houston
- Kings Kids Houston Childcare LLCLicensed child care center
- Peck Head StartLicensed child care center
- St Philip Day SchoolLicensed child care center
- Little People's Creative AcademyLicensed child care center
- Reynolds Head StartLicensed child care center
- The Learning ExperienceLicensed child care center
- The Learning ExperienceLicensed child care center
- Joyful Days AcademyLicensed child care center
- Big Dreams & Lil Wonders Christian Academy - AirtexLicensed child care center
- Kids Klub Learning CenterLicensed child care center
- The Learning Corner Academy 2Licensed child care center
- iKids at Poe Elementary SchoolLicensed child care center
Get Texas's new day cares every Monday
Free. The week’s new names for one region, in one short email. No account.
We only email you about Texas Daycare Report. Unsubscribe any time.