Licensed child care center · public record
The Kipling School, Inc.
Houston, Texas. The state’s inspection record for this operation, from Texas Health and Human Services Child Care Regulation, in plain English.
The operation
- Type
- Licensed child care center
- State permit
- Full Permit, issued June 19, 2013
- Capacity
- 208 children
- Ages served
- Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
- Hours
- Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri · 07:00 AM-06:00 PM
- Accepts child care subsidies
- No
- Conditions on the permit
- Yes
- Corrective action listed
- No
- Adverse action listed
- No
- Temporarily closed
- No
- State operation number
- 1499069
Where
620 Shepherd Dr
Houston, TX 77007
Deficiencies by risk level
The state’s own summary counts for this operation, as published in the HHSC operations file.
Citations on the record
Each standard the state found not met, newest first, with its risk level and when it was corrected.
| Inspection | Risk | Standard |
|---|---|---|
| May 15, 2024 | Medium High | 746.4217(2) - Caring for Children Above or Below Ground Level - Follow any restrictions State’s note: “Based upon the information obtained during the investigation, sufficient evidence was available to support the restrictions issued by the Fire Marshal had not been followed by allowing children under 2-years old to be cared for above ground level in the months of March and April 2024. CORRECTED - There were no children under 2-years-old being cared for in M…” |
| January 18, 2024 | Medium Low | 746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees State’s note: “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023, revealed the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2023 by January 15, 2024, as required.” |
| September 19, 2023 | Medium High | 746.4135(a) - Children's Products- Review list and Remove unsafe products State’s note: “A boppy pillow recalled 9/23/21 was observed to be in the infant room and in use by an infant in care.” |
| September 19, 2023 | Medium High | 746.1315(b)(1) - CPR Training and Recertification Adhere to Guidelines-skill based State’s note: “Out of the five staff files evaluated during the inspection, one was obtained CPR training through the NationalCPRFountation which is an online class.” |
| September 19, 2023 | Medium High | 746.2409(a)(2) - Safety Requirements for Cribs - Snug Fitting Sheets State’s note: “Sheets in four infant cribs were observed loose.” |
| September 19, 2023 | Medium | 746.2421(b) - Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days State’s note: “Written feeding instructions for a child not yet on table food was last updated 08/06/2023” |
| September 19, 2023 | High | 746.2415(b) - AP Cribs - Only Snug Fitting Sheet and Crib Mattress Cover Allowed if Infant Younger than 12 Months of Age State’s note: “A two month infant was observed sleeping with a white noise machine/speaker inside of their crib.” |
| September 19, 2023 | Medium High | 746.4217(2) - Caring for Children Above or Below Ground Level - Follow any restrictions State’s note: “Two children under 24 months old were being cared for above ground level.” |
| September 19, 2023 | Medium | 746.1613(a) - Reduction of child/caregiver naptime ratio by 50% allowed, If 13 or more children in care, children are 18 mo. or older and other standards met State’s note: “Child/caregiver ratio was reduced for a group of children that included infants 12-17 months old.” |
| October 4, 2022 | Medium | 746.2505(4)(A) - Furnishings and Equipment for Toddlers - Bottles & Training Cups Labeled for Each Toddler State’s note: “Some of the toddler cups were not labeled with their names and last initial of last name.” |
| October 4, 2022 | High | 746.1203(2) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know Group Responsible For State’s note: “The caregiver stated she had 10 children, then stated she had 8, when I counted their were 9 children in the classroom.” |
| October 4, 2022 | Medium High | 746.3503(a) - Diaper Changing Equipment - Smooth, Non-absorbent, Easy to Clean Surface State’s note: “In the infant classrooms the changing table mats had holes in them.” |
| October 4, 2022 | Medium | 746.4503(a) - Individual Cot, Bed, or Mat for Each Walking Child Through 4 Years of Age State’s note: “In all classrooms some of the mats had tires and holes which the mat is no longer waterproof.” |
| October 4, 2022 | Medium | 746.4505 - Storage for Individual Belongings State’s note: “In some classrooms children did not have storage space to be their belongings and in some classrooms the areas were not labeled the with the child s name.” |
| October 4, 2022 | Medium High | 746.5401 - Requirement of Gas Leak Inspection State’s note: “The operation has not had a gas inspection since 9/2/2020.” |
| February 25, 2022 | Medium Low | 746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees State’s note: “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.” |
Recent inspections and visits
- September 10, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- September 17, 2025 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- June 30, 2025 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- June 16, 2025 Report · deficiency found: No
- March 7, 2025 Report · deficiency found: No
- September 17, 2024 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- May 24, 2024 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- May 15, 2024 Report · deficiency found: Yes
- January 18, 2024 Assessment · deficiency found: Yes
- October 5, 2023 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- September 19, 2023 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- October 20, 2022 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- October 4, 2022 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- February 25, 2022 Assessment · deficiency found: Yes
How many times has the state inspected The Kipling School, Inc.?
Texas HHSC's file lists 3 inspections in the last two years, the most recent on September 10, 2026. 0 of the inspections and other visits in that period are marked as having found a deficiency.
Does The Kipling School, Inc. have deficiencies on its record?
The state's summary for this operation lists 16: 2 high-risk, 7 medium-high-risk, 5 medium-risk, 2 medium-low-risk. Each one is listed below with its date and whether it was corrected.
Is this a rating?
No. This page shows the State of Texas's own public records, summarized. It is not a rating, a review or our opinion. Ask the operation or HHSC about anything here.
Other day cares in Houston
- Kings Kids Houston Childcare LLCLicensed child care center
- Peck Head StartLicensed child care center
- St Philip Day SchoolLicensed child care center
- Little People's Creative AcademyLicensed child care center
- Reynolds Head StartLicensed child care center
- The Learning ExperienceLicensed child care center
- The Learning ExperienceLicensed child care center
- Joyful Days AcademyLicensed child care center
- Big Dreams & Lil Wonders Christian Academy - AirtexLicensed child care center
- Kids Klub Learning CenterLicensed child care center
- The Learning Corner Academy 2Licensed child care center
- iKids at Poe Elementary SchoolLicensed child care center
Get Texas's new day cares every Monday
Free. The week’s new names for one region, in one short email. No account.
We only email you about Texas Daycare Report. Unsubscribe any time.