Licensed child care center · public record
The Learning Center
Lumberton, Texas. The state’s inspection record for this operation, from Texas Health and Human Services Child Care Regulation, in plain English.
The operation
- Type
- Licensed child care center
- State permit
- Full Permit, issued April 27, 2009
- Capacity
- 186 children
- Ages served
- Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
- Hours
- Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri · 06:30 AM-06:00 PM
- Accepts child care subsidies
- Yes
- Conditions on the permit
- No
- Corrective action listed
- No
- Adverse action listed
- No
- Temporarily closed
- No
- State operation number
- 944190
Where
124 Country Lane Dr
Lumberton, TX 77657
Deficiencies by risk level
The state’s own summary counts for this operation, as published in the HHSC operations file.
Citations on the record
Each standard the state found not met, newest first, with its risk level and when it was corrected.
| Inspection | Risk | Standard |
|---|---|---|
| October 16, 2026 | Medium | 746.2207(c)(6) - Screen Time Activities - Off When Not in Use State’s note: “The television in the school age room was observed to be turning on in an empty room. NOTE: The school age group was observed to be on the playground during the inspection. Corrected at inspection. the television was turned off.” |
| October 16, 2026 | Medium High | 746.1203(3)(B) - Meal preparation, except when 12 or fewer children are in care State’s note: “A caregiver was observed cooking while supervising a group of 8 children 18m-4yrs old. NOTE: The caregiver was observed to be walking back and forth between the kitchen area and eating are where the children were. Corrected at inspecton, the caregiver stopped cooking and resumed supervising the group.” |
| October 2, 2026 | High | 746.1205(a)(2) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know number of children responsible for State’s note: “One careigver in charge of 13 children was not aware of the number of children in their care, When asked, the caregiver stated they didn't know and that they just arrived, after walking around, the caregiver stated there were 12 children. After a few minutes, a 13th child was observed exiting the restroom. The caregiver was not aware of the child in the rest…” |
| August 25, 2026 | High | 746.2427 - AP Infants Sleep on Backs or Must Have Completed and Signed Sleep Exception Form for the Infant State’s note: “There was a child observed sleeping on their stomach without being able to independently roll over. The caregiver supervising reported that the infant prefers to sleep on their stomach.” |
| August 25, 2026 | High | 746.2415(b) - AP Cribs - Only Snug Fitting Sheet and Crib Mattress Cover Allowed if Infant Younger than 12 Months of Age State’s note: “An infant crib was observed to have toys with the child present inside after waking from sleep. Another infant under a month old was observed to have a pacifier attached to their clothing while sleeping.” |
| August 21, 2026 | Medium | 746.707 - Incident/Illness Report Form Shared with Parent State’s note: “The incident report was not signed by the parent.” |
| August 21, 2026 | Medium High | 746.305(a)(2) - AP Report Child Injury Requiring Medical Treatment by a Health-Care Professional or Hospitalization State’s note: “A child in care sustained an injury requiring medical treatment, and the injury was not reported to Licensing as required.” |
| January 25, 2026 | Medium Low | 746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees State’s note: “A Review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2025 data from January 21, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2025 by January 15, 2026, as required.” |
| October 27, 2025 | High | 746.5617(a)(5) - Required Equipment in Vehicles - Fire Extinguisher State’s note: “The fire extinguisher in one of the operation's vans was not properly secured in the passenger compartment. A picture was taken.” |
| August 26, 2025 | Medium High | 746.1601 - Child/ Caregiver Ratio - 13 or More Children State’s note: “During the walk through, one caregiver was observed with 7 children. The specified age group for this class was determined to be 12-17 months of age. One caregiver can only have 5 children with this specified age group. This was corrected when another caregiver came into the room.” |
| August 18, 2025 | Medium High | 746.2419(8) - Requirements for Feeding Infants - Other Use of Handwashing Sink State’s note: “Evidence supports through caregiver interview that cups used for infants are being washed in the handwashing sink.” |
| November 1, 2023 | Medium | 746.501(a)(30) - Written Operational Policies - Support inclusive services State’s note: “The operational policies were lacking information related to the support of inclusive services.” |
| November 2, 2022 | High | 746.2419(3) - Requirements for Feeding Infants - Never Prop Bottles State’s note: “During the inspection, one infant was observed with a propped bottle. This was corrected during the inspection.” |
| November 2, 2022 | High | 746.2415(b) - AP Cribs - Only Snug Fitting Sheet and Crib Mattress Cover Allowed if Infant Younger than 12 Months of Age State’s note: “Two infants in care that were younger that 12 months of age were observed with a boppy pillow and blanket in their cribs.” |
| November 2, 2022 | Medium High | 746.2409(a)(2) - Safety Requirements for Cribs - Snug Fitting Sheets State’s note: “Two cribs had sheets that were not snug fitting. The sheets were loose and able to be grabbed off of the mattress.” |
| November 2, 2022 | Medium High | 746.1203(6) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Free of other activities State’s note: “One caregiver was observed using a cell phone for personal use during naptime. This was discussed with the Director.” |
| November 29, 2021 | Medium High | 746.2407 - Infant Care Area Furnishings and Equipment -Use of Safety Straps State’s note: “The infants in the 12-18 month room did have the straps on while sitting at the toddler table. Caregivers put the straps on during the inspection.” |
| November 29, 2021 | Medium | 746.603(a)(4) - Children's Records - Immunizations State’s note: “Three children's records were lacking a current immunization record.” |
Recent inspections and visits
- November 2, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- October 16, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- October 2, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- October 2, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- August 31, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- August 25, 2026 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- August 21, 2026 Report · deficiency found: Yes
- January 25, 2026 Assessment · deficiency found: Yes
- October 27, 2025 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- September 3, 2025 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- August 26, 2025 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- August 18, 2025 Report · deficiency found: Yes
- October 28, 2024 Inspection · deficiency found: No
- November 1, 2023 Inspection · deficiency found: Yes
- September 19, 2023 Inspection · deficiency found: No
How many times has the state inspected The Learning Center?
Texas HHSC's file lists 9 inspections in the last two years, the most recent on November 2, 2026. 8 of the inspections and other visits in that period are marked as having found a deficiency.
Does The Learning Center have deficiencies on its record?
The state's summary for this operation lists 18: 6 high-risk, 7 medium-high-risk, 4 medium-risk, 1 medium-low-risk. Each one is listed below with its date and whether it was corrected.
Is this a rating?
No. This page shows the State of Texas's own public records, summarized. It is not a rating, a review or our opinion. Ask the operation or HHSC about anything here.
Other day cares in Lumberton
Get Texas's new day cares every Monday
Free. The week’s new names for one region, in one short email. No account.
We only email you about Texas Daycare Report. Unsubscribe any time.